Failure to Post: Blog Avoidant

by

Noma has been asking me why I haven’t posted recently. Hmm…It’s true I have become a bit blog avoidant.

I think this is due in part to our recent set back with having had to dip into our emergency fund. And because I know we’ll have to dip into it again to pay for the termite tenting we have to do in the next couple of weeks/months (unscheduled so far). I’ve got my head down and my blog between my knees. Who am I to write about battling debt? Perhaps I can offer some schadenfreude to those who have avoided dipping into their emergency funds this month.

The optimist in me thinks these are small setbacks and that we are still in a better place than we were before because we are much more aware of our spending. This awareness, however, does, not in and of itself bring any feeling of progress. In fact I’ve noticed it makes me feel more anxious and lackluster about life. This is probably because I’m more aware of our situation and how impossible it feels to get ahead.

Feeling more lackluster about life because of my financial situation doesn’t make me feel proud. Why should any of us not enjoy what we have in the moment because of something we’ve done in the past (incur debt) or something we want to obtain in the future (a car, a remodelling project, a vacation, keeping up with the joneses)? How is it that our financial situation can dictate how we feel about life and ourselves to that degree?

How can we work on achieving financial goals without losing a sense of balance? Any tips from fellow debt bloggers would be appreciated.

2 Responses to “Failure to Post: Blog Avoidant”

  1. Bianca Bizarro Says:

    I know how you feel. I should update our emergency savings bar on the blog because I think it’s gone down. I’m waiting for all the bills to come in and the dust to settle. Just be glad you have an emergency fund to fall back on. Lots of people don’t. I thought when I paid off my car in June that I’d be able to sock away a lot and really get saving, but then we bought my son a car and had it repaired, and I had dental work done blah, blah, blah. Suffice it to say, I don’t think anything’s been added to the emergency fund. You’re doing a great job, and all you can do is to take one day at a time.

  2. ladydoughgirl Says:

    Thanks Biana,
    Your note really cheered me up. It’s nice to know that others feel the same way. And it’s always good to get some fresh perspective. I’m glad we had the emergency fund to fall back on this time. I think the trick is to get it back to where it was before.

Leave a Reply

