Eight Things You Didn’t Know About Me (2)

by

I’ve been a little slack lately, but I think, upon re-reading some email, I was tagged by Basil Bizarro. I’m feeling very out of it, blog-wise, but excited to get back into the fray.

Eight things you didn’t know about me.

1. I worked on a suicide prevention hotline for a year-and-a-half.

2. Once, I woke up on a haystack and the sun was rising. I kid you not.

3. I got to know my wife over a primitive company email system, around 1993. At one point, I went to the tech guy for some help with my account. He was very puzzled. “There must be something wrong — you can’t possibly have sent this many emails.” I didn’t say anything.

4. Ever hear of Guadalcanal? I was born in the Solomon Islands. My grandfather narrowly missed getting strafed by Japanese warplanes (roughly) 40 years prior. He believed in God after that. He died two years ago. He was 97.

5. I was in a rock band with a record contract and everything. Sadly, I can’t say more! To be completely honest, I left for some sanity before the actual contract and stuff.

6. My brother attempted suicide.

7. I have worked as: a sandwich maker; a production assistant in publishing; a temp in banking, blood processing, insurance firms; I even went door-to-door, interrupting people’s dinners, for the New York Public Interest Research Group (NYPIRG).

8. I got back-stage passes to a Pogues show once and met Joe Strummer. I was so star struck all I could do was shake his hand and walk away. My date was amused by this. As a shrink, looking back on the experience, he looked kind of depressed. Kind of sick of the star thing.

I guess that’s more like 25 things. Thanks to B. Bizarro for the tag love, and a great belly laugh. This is one of the funniest lines I’ve seen in a while: “I was trying to hold my phone to my ear and urinate at the same time.” That kind of sums up the customer service experience.

Leave a Reply

