Focusing on Goals: Persistence without Obsession

by

I recently read a post by Leo over at Zen Habits called Enjoy Life Now, AND Safe for Later, or, Why Delayed Gratification is a False Dichotomy.

The article is a good reminder about how one can simplify to enjoy life in the moment while still keeping the future in mind. I find this a good reminder for how to live.

But what about for those of us who are paying for past gratification?

The zen approach doesn’t feel quite right to me….we’ve already bitten off more than we could eat and now we’re paying for it. To be a debt warrior one needs to become a bit obsessive in order to make any progress towards one’s debt. And even when we are in full battle mode with the debt it never feels like enough to keep it at bay. How do you get rid of 20K of debt without becoming obsessive and perhaps cutting so much out of your life that you don’t really enjoy life to the fullest because you’re watching every penny?

Yesterday I realized that if we paid $500/month towards our debt it would take us about 3 years to pay it off. That is very depressing.

How do other debt warriors come up with plans to conquer their debt while still making sure that they can enjoy life now and think and plan for the future? Please share.

3 Responses to “Focusing on Goals: Persistence without Obsession”

  1. Zachary Says:

    I, too, share the debt-warrior approach!

  2. Nick in Iraq Says:

    You could try to earn extra income. I volunteered to go to Iraq for the extra pay. Not what I would suggest for everyone, but it is getting me out of debt quick!

  3. ladydoughgirl Says:

    Zachary and Nick,
    Thanks so much for leaving comments. I’ve definitely been a bit depressed at my inability to make progress. I’ll check out your blogs too.

    Nick, going to Iraq to get out of debt shows amazing dedication and determination. I know that I don’t have that kind of mettle. Getting extra income is definitely a thought. However, since I work 40 hrs a week and have 2 young kids I don’t know how I can do this. I’ll have to think creatively!
    Thanks for stopping by. Stay safe.
    –Ladydoughgirl

Leave a Reply

