Hitting the Financial Reset Button

by

I’ve been Missing in Action. It’s been a busy summer. First we had to deal with fumigating our house. Then I was away for a few weeks on a vacation and then work-related trip. Upon our return we were scrambling to unpack and get ready for the beginning of a new school year. During all of this our blogging feel by the wayside. This doesn’t mean we haven’t been thinking about our finances and ways to run a tighter ship. Still, I must say that it was really therapeutic to get away from the day-to-day grind.

When we got back from vacation I found a big check waiting for me. This check was the result of our decision to sell a mutual fund. We decided to sell this asset so that we could pay off our credit card debt. We were sure to put a good chunk of the money aside in a high-yield CD so that we have the money available to us when it comes time to pay taxes. We used the rest to help wipe out most of our debt. I have no doubt that we did the right thing as the level of stress we were living with trying to pay down our debts was really not healthy.

Our challenge now will be to keep on top of our bills and really build our emergency fund so that when big expenses arise (and they always do!) that we don’t have to use a credit card to pay for it.

Tonight when I was updating our debt/assets and paying bills online I noticed that the one credit card I had paid off in August was showing a $242 finance charge. I was enraged and called the cc company to ask them to get rid of it. Amazingly enough they did! So, I am now back to a $0 balance with that.

I’m still hoping the Bizarros will rise from the dead.

One Response to “Hitting the Financial Reset Button”

  1. Geoff Hibbert Says:

    This sort of thing has been happening in the uk to. We have a test case just started relating to bank charges and one is due soon about credit card charges

Leave a Reply

